2m Ham Radio Antenna help

IMaDad

Default rank 5000+ posts
The Hen that laid the Golden Legos
36   0
Reaction score
Picked up a 2m HT and I am studying for my ticket.
I upgraded the rubber duck antenna to another rubber duck antenna.

looking at a mag mount for my truck, or maybe a glass mount. this will be used with the HT until i get a mobile. any suggestions?

also looking for a packable antenna solution for my HT in my BOB. I heard there are some cheap ones you can string up in a tree. any suggestions?

Last edited:
Got my ticket saturday.
got a "slim jim" roll up j-pole for the BOB/HT set up.

for anyone who says ham is too hard, or too expensive...
I read study tests on the ****ter on my iphone for a few days
I took the test and passed first time, less that 30 minutes and only $15
you can get a uv-5r ht radio and hit the stone mountain repeater from most of metro area. That radio is less than $40 delivered off amazon.

now shopping for a mobile 2m set up with cross band repeat so i can use the beofeng with it.

Congrats on getting your license!

Stay away from glass mount antennas. They don't work worth a crap. Mag mount is better but not optimal. NMO mount is gonna be the best but you have to drill a hole.

I use a cheap mag mount and it works fine. You don't need anything super nice for repeater work. And I like being able to take it off if I'm going to be parking somewhere in a not so good neighborhood so I don't broadcast I've got expensive stuff in my truck. Same reason I don't have Glock and other gun stickers all over my truck.

Now start studying for your General and get on HF that's fun. Don't wait 12 years like I did.

Congrats on getting your license!

Stay away from glass mount antennas. They don't work worth a crap. Mag mount is better but not optimal. NMO mount is gonna be the best but you have to drill a hole.