• ODT Gun Show this Saturday! - Click here for info and tickets!

Ford F-150 problem

1coolhand

Default rank <3500 posts
ODT Junkie!
150   0
Reaction score
O.k. guys
Need some help from any and all mechanics, especially any of you guys that might work for a FORD dealership . Last September we purchased a 2010 F-150 and have enjoyed having the truck and everything about it. Well, this past Saturday I was driving the truck and pulled up to a stop light and the truck suddenly shut off, no indication, hesitation or anything. It does still have a warranty and I plan on taking the truck back to have them check it out, but everything I have read online about this issue seems to say the dealer "could not duplicate the problem". If any of you have had this experience or know someone that has, We would appreciate any all info you might have about it. My wife and kids are in this truck everyday and I need to get this taken care asap.
Thanks,
1coolhand

I'm no mechanic but i do work at a ford dealership.. There a couple of preliminary questions to ask, Did the check engine light come on when the engine stalled. Did the truck start back up? Has the issue happened more than once? any detailed information will help I'll pass it on to my service dept tomorrow and get back to you with the best answers i can.

reflash the PCM, sounds like a torque lock up problem, check for pending codes and any that are already there. should all be covered under warranty