Ham Radio

Stevebob

Default rank <750 posts
Frontiersman
17   0
Reaction score
I recently posted a thread about a Get Home Bag, and noticed there was a lot of people who said to include a Baofeng radio but there was also several people who stated that they were not licensed.

I am posting this to offer my assistance to anyone wanting to learn about these radios, or the licensing test. I am by no means an expert, but I am in contact with alot of other operators who are far more skilled and knowledgable than my self, and I have a pretty decent bit of experience as far as antenna systems go.

If anyone has any general radio questioning or just wants to know the benefits, feel free to respond here or to send me a pm. I cn be a little slow on busy days, but I will try to respond as quickly as possible. 11391195_991464830886058_5815016037937306346_n.jpg 11393279_991836267515581_884092933773607656_o.jpg 11406845_991464850886056_1428566666279928879_n.jpg Shack.jpg

My callsign is KM4CUX

I just tested for my technician (most basic level for those who don't know) and passed it only after a week of studying. I have no means to get into the elaborate and technical aspects of amateur radio operation. I just want to be able to practice the skill of emergency communication legally for when I really need to use it.

I see a lot of individuals into survival/preparation who spend countless hours and dollars investing in firearms/training/ammunition practicing for an event that might cause them to use their firearm. But most of the time, I don't see those individuals spending a fraction of the money and time to learn a possibly more valuable skill such as emergency communication. I spent a week studying for the test, 15 dollars to take the test (about the cost of a box of ammunition) and 44 dollars for a radio and upgraded antenna. With that setup my license is good for 10 years and I can run countless practice communications with minimal costs.