Ironwood Designs AK-47 Furniture Finishing (Pics Inside)

Dynamis

Default rank 5000+ posts Supporter
Conquering Oneself is Strength
456   1
Reaction score
I received my walnut Ironwood Designs AK-47 furniture today for my milled MAK-90's and am about to start the finishing process. What I originally had in mind was a Watco Danish Oil but I am not a serious wood finish guru. I wanted to do one set in cherry and one set in natural. Has anyone used the Watco oils or do you have a better suggestion? I want a deep, rich reddish hue to the set with the "tigerish" grain.

Opinions? Suggestions?

Attachments

• Ironwood 4.jpg
    Ironwood 4.jpg
    108.9 KB · Views: 110
  • Ironwood 3.jpg
    Ironwood 3.jpg
    188.7 KB · Views: 95
  • Ironwood 2.jpg
    Ironwood 2.jpg
    161.8 KB · Views: 102
  • Ironwood 1.jpg
    Ironwood 1.jpg
    145.2 KB · Views: 89
I have some experience with woods finishing in Stain only advice I can give us don't over apply other than that the choice of color and of course a good quality stain is best my preference is actually Minwax believe it or not

Ironwood has good info on its site.

I went with Watco, and am pleased with the results. It is not just a stain. It soaks in and makes the wood stronger and more durable.

I would follow the instructions on the site, and I would fit everything carefully before starting the sanding/steel wool process described in the site. AKs have a good bit of variablity, and may require a good bit of filing to the stocks to get them to fit right.

Ironwood makes a good product, and Watco goes nicely on Walnut.

I went over mine with 250 grit then 400 grit last night. I then raised the grain with a wet rag.

This morning I buffed with steel wool.

After blowing it off I popped open the RIT dye and crossed my fingers.

I just rubbed the first coat of Red RIT into the buttstock. It's drying now.

View attachment 92091