• ODT Gun Show this Saturday! - Click here for info and tickets!

Pig Roast

36fatfriends

Default rank <2500 posts
I Will Cut You
62   0
Reaction score
Hey everyone, I'm planning a little get together in a few weeks and would like to roast a whole pig for the event. I have never done this before and don't want to embarrass myself. Does anyone have any pointers for me considering the following information:

-I will be in the middle of nowhere. I'll be getting a generator as a power source.
-I would like to build a simple open pit and run a spit for roasting.
-I need to figure a way to rig a small slow electric motor to the spit.
-Should be around 30-40 in attendance
-Should I buy Briquettes or make a hardwood fire on the side and just transfer coals under the pig

Any recommendations for spit plans or setups? Sources for whole pigs in Atlanta or Lula? If it's easier (and affordable enough) to rent a spit?

What I've researched so far has led me to the following conclusions:

-Have a way to adjust height of spit
-Assume 1hr 10min per 10 pounds of dead weight
-Assume 2-3lbs of dead weight per person
-Heavily salt rub or soak in brine bath overnight before

Thank you guys!

I've always just built a simple "pit" by stacking concrete blocks 3 high (2 full size and 1 half block) about 3' x 5' leaving a couple gaps for air intake and one large opening for throwing in coals. Put a piece of expanded metal (mine happens to be an old trailer ramp) across the top, and another row of blocks to create an oven. I then have a few pieces of tin roofing to cover the meat while cooking. Heat is supplied by a 55 gallon drum hardwood fire, just using the coals shoveled under the meat and a few pieces of soaked wood for smoke. I cut a foot tall hole in the bottom/side of the barrel and welded some rebar above the shovel hole to hold up the wood.

This has worked out well for me and there is always a little room around the pig for the corn etc.

Dam, now I'm hungry!!!