• ODT Gun Show & Swap Meet - May 4, 2024! - Click here for info

Security system for home and yard - seeking recommendations

rlmblm21

Default rank <1250 posts Lifetime Supporter
ODT Junkie!
13   0
Reaction score
I would like to get a security system installed around the outside of my home, that would include a few cameras to capture cars from the front and back if they pull down my driveway, and also to capture anyone who approached one of the 4 entry doors to my home. I currently have a NEST doorbell camera, and I love it, but I would like a more robust monitoring system that would cover the other 3 doors, the driveway, and perhaps a lot of the perimeter of my home.

I am not tech savvy, nor am I interested in installing these cameras myself. My husband is resistant to putting cameras up, although he allowed the nest camera, and is open to discussing a more robust system. (He does draw the line at inside cameras, so there will be none INSIDE the home.)

Do any of you have opinions, recommendations, suggestions that might be helpful to me in exploring this?

Thank you,
Barbara

I’ve got a SimpliSafe system. Their new outdoor cameras can be either battery pack or hard wired. I’ve got mine wired but further down a driveway may require the battery packs. It’s controlled by my smart phone and I can bring up any camera at any time and it’s cellular based but uses WiFi to communicate with the cameras

There are a few topics that might help you narrow your search.
1. Wired rather than wireless systems tend to be more robust and once installed, also tend to have better picture quality and tend to be more secure. Wired units free you from batteries/solar panels too. Wireless tends to be easier to install.