• ODT Gun Show & Swap Meet - May 4, 2024! - Click here for info

Update: NFA cases: Hollis v. Holder; Watson v. Holder - Dallas argument

RamRoddoc

Default rank 5000+ posts
The Hen that laid the Golden Legos
62   0
Reaction score
April 23, 2015 the Texas judge heard the argument to dismiss the case. Below is an individual's observation, a personal one so take it with that grain of salt.

A fly on the wall in Texas :

Another attendee here. I'll try to summarize, but I have zero experience in a courtroom, so my interpretation of events is pretty sketchy.

When I got there, Nolo and the others asked who I was. I didn't know who was who, so I wasn't quite sure how to respond; "I'm from the internet" doesn't really sound appropriate. Told them I was from the "website", which seemed to work :-) Everybody was dressed very professionally and made it through street-level and court-level security successfully.

It turned out to be fairly sparsely attended. Nolo had two others with him for legal support, and the feds had two guys. Nolo did all the talking for us, a short youngish guy spoke for DOJ. I think it was scheduled for about an hour, but it ran for 1:45, from 13:30 to 15:15.

DISCLAIMER...
My notes are just general bullet points I jotted down. I'm no stenographer, so it's far from complete or comprehensive. Just trying to draw a bit of a picture for the gang here.

Judge Lynn started out by having DOJ review issues related to "standing".

DOJ:
Injury discussion
Commerce clause
Even if federal law allowed MGs, TX law does not, so this case is irrelevant
The Dakota silencer letter (trust is not a person)
Referenced the relevance of a cockfighting case!
NFA safe harbor

Nolo:
During introduction, Judge asked Nolo to pronounce his name 2-3 times
Fed definition of MG differs from TX definition; more than one shot per trigger pull vs more than two. Therefore a fed decision is not directly transferrable to state (?)
Maddox letter (Dakota letter)