• ODT Gun Show & Swap Meet - May 4, 2024! - Click here for info

45-70 for deer?

bevans

Default rank <1000 posts
Frontiersman
111   0
Reaction score
What do y'all think about a Henry 45-70 for deer?

I'm new to deer hunting and will be going out with my FIL this season. So, out of my current rifles, the only 2 that I think would possibly be okay for deer are either my Henry 45-70 with XS rail and Leupold 1.5-4x28 IER Scout scope in Leupold Quick Release QWR2 rings. I also have a Henry X in 44 mag but it is irons only at the moment. However, I plan on adding the XS rail and optic soon.

I know both will take deer but I'm curious if there are any negatives to using the 45-70 or 44 mag?

Also, do you think more magnification would be better, or is the 1.5-4x sufficient?

EDITED to add shots will be within 60 yards.

I'm not against picking up a bolt action 308 or 30-06 and may do that anyway... but if I can save money and just use 1 of the above Henry rifles (even if I need a higher power scope) I'd rather do that.

45-70d.jpg

44 mag is a great gun for GA deer hunting out to about 100 yards. 4x scope is also fine for that distance. I can recall a time when that was the main scope power that everyone used for farther shots. 45-70 will give you a little more range and will get the job done but it is over-kill in my opinion. Just be careful not to shoot them in meaty parts where a lot of meat will get wasted. Should be great for heart lung shot.

44 mag is a great gun for GA deer hunting out to about 100 yards. 4x scope is also fine for that distance. I can recall a time when that was the main scope power that everyone used for farther shots. 45-70 will give you a little more range and will get the job done but it is over-kill in my opinion. Just be careful not to shoot them in meaty parts where a lot of meat will get wasted. Should be great for heart lung shot.

So, in your opinion do you think I'd be better off moving my 1.5-4x scope over to the 44mag and using it?