• Yes, let someone else shoot the first round

Votes: 0 0.0%

• Total voters

coach482

Default rank 5000+ posts Lifetime Supporter
PSYCHO BILLY
90   0
Reaction score
I have some 9mm Berrys 125gn FMJ they have a conical nose. The OAL says 1.05 - 1.12
In order to feed and chamber these I have to size the length 1.08 Then they will chamber and eject just fine, any longer and they hit the rifling and will no go full battery. I tried in 4 different pistols, XDm, Sig P229, Sig938, Sig P6. I have only cycled I have not fired any of the bullets yet.

They are in specs but this is my first time reloading 9s so being extra careful. When crimped they leave a little visible ring in the case where the bottom of the bullet stops. I took one apart to check and I also took apart a factory load, I am not pressing them in any father than the factory load because these bullets are shorter.
upload_2015-11-24_16-39-35.png
upload_2015-11-24_16-40-13.png

My concern is with the visible ring I charged the case with powder and it is just below the ring with 4.5 grains of powder. When does the pressures start to go up? When I touch the powder with the bullet or does it take a lot of compacting before this takes place?
Sorry the description is long I do much better when I can point and grunt.

upload_2015-11-24_16-39-35.png

upload_2015-11-24_16-40-13.png

Last edited:
Are you sure you're reading your calipers right? I only ask becuase I load with berrys (though I've not seen a FP bullet like that one when loading) and I always load to 1.160" OAL I use 1.170" for my 1911 9mm's but the double stack guns (XDm, and PT111) magazines will jam anything longer than 1.160. I've never had any issue with a bullet touching the rifling

Regardless the load manuals normally leave you a little bit of leway so that they don't get sued if you screw one up and set it 1/100th deeper than they said to and blow your gun up.