All the lumens...

Bushwhacker

Default rank <4000 posts Lifetime Supporter
Unmitigated Badassery
119   0
Reaction score
How many lumens are you using on your NON-CQ rifle? For open (non-reflective) applications with distances greater than 50 yards. I'm not trying to get into the nuances of lumen application, just curious what output you use that seems to work well out to xxx yards?

350 on my rifle and 300 on my pistol not the best light at 50 yards but you can see what's going on at that distance. I have a streamlight 2,200 lumen I call the day maker for when I need to see everything going on. (At close distance it works as an x-ray too)

You're asking about throw, not lumens. Check out Candlepowerforums.com for more than you could ever imagine about flashlights.

I've been running 900+ in my EDC lights for the last seven years or so... same on my HD rifle. I used to use normal filament bulbs, but I eventually made the switch to LEDs when they finally got bright enough to be useful (over 500 lumens). I exclusively run "warm" LEDs-- so you can tell when your steak is done. The typical blue ("cool") LEDs don't show shades of red at all. (And I'm not exaggerating about the lumens-- Surefire and Maglite are 5 or more years behind the cutting edge of flashlight tech. See Candlepowerforums.com.)

Haven't been impressed with pistol lights until this week-- Youtube the 4Sevens "Sentinel" pistol light-- 600 lumens, tiny like a laser, lightweight-- and $100. USB charging, and with Bluetooth you can even keep track of it remotely.