• ODT Gun Show & Swap Meet - May 4, 2024! - Click here for info

Brass cleaning question

HGM

Default rank <200 posts
Hunter
13   0
Reaction score
Hey guys, I'm getting into reloading, got the books and process straight in my head but have a question for cleaning.. The brass I'm using is once fired, by me, and clean except for the carbon fouling. Do I need to clean the cases? I dont care how shiny they appear to the deer I'm shooting, just curious if I need to obsess about it for pressure and saftey... I'm trying to decide if I need to buy a tumbler or cleaner... Thoughts??

As I have been reloading for around 40 years, I can attest to the fact that obsession with "jewelry appearance" reloads is a relatively recent phenomenon!
(Literally) for over 100 years, the only "cleaning" that typical brass got was to brush out the case and use a primer-pocket cleaner. That and a quick soapy bath / rinse to clean off re-sizing lube! With really "dirty" brass, one would often give it a bath / rinse before doing anything else.

The same attention and "watch-its" that were undertaken with brass inspection back then applies today as well!

Don't get me wrong, I like "pretty" brass as much as anyone else, but have found that it just isn't worth the effort
I've use stainless steel tumbling with / without follow-on vibratory cleaning, exotic baths, Ultra-Sonic ... you name it, I've likely tried it!

For me, an initial bath in a mild citric acid / low suds detergent while performing a "bottle brush" case interior clean, rinse, dry, lube, re-size / de-prime, another bath in a mild citric acid / low suds detergent, rinse, dry, scrape clean the primer pockets, trim, de-bur / de-campfer case necks (include a primer pockets swage if necessary to remove military crimps). Load and Shoot!

Don't use any form of Vinegar to clean brass as it actually eats into it ... Citric Acid does not as it actually is (chemically) good for the brass!