• ODT Gun Show & Swap Meet - May 4, 2024! - Click here for info

Key holing

Legitmw

Default rank <750 posts
Frontiersman
21   0
Reaction score
I'm a total newbie reloader. Made my first batch today. .45 acp. 230 gr Ranier plated bullet, 4.6 gr 231, CCI primers, and mixed brass. 1.25" OAL. Shot them and probably half of them were key holing pretty bad. I was shooting a paper target that was taped to a piece of plywood, so I know it wasn't the target blowing around causing the problem. What can I do to stop this keyholing issue? Thanks

Keyholing is sometimes the result of an undercharged round causing the bullet to tumble prematurely. I know my .38 stuff will keyhole if I push the lower limits of a loading. Don't have a chart in front of me to see where your loading is in terms of minimum to maximum...but that would be my bet.

Keyholing is sometimes the result of an undercharged round causing the bullet to tumble prematurely. I know my .38 stuff will keyhole if I push the lower limits of a loading. Don't have a chart in front of me to see where your loading is in terms of minimum to maximum...but that would be my bet.

Looks like he nailed it. The Hornady reloading manual puts the min charge for Win 231 at 5.0gr (for 700FPS)... you stated you're at 4.6gr

Last edited:
OK...looked it up on Hodgdon's website. At 1.25" OAL...that's a little long. They list the OAL at 1.225" for a 200gr. LSWC, or 1.155" for a 200gr. JHP. IIRC, the rainer bullet is probably more similar to a JHP/JSP bullet length than a SWC length. So you might be as much as 1/10 of an inch long...which is a lot in reloading. That's potentially enough to cause the bullet to exit the case too quickly before full pressure is reached. And that would definitely cause keyholing. I'd try seating a little deeper and using a slight taper crimp to help up the pressure before I added more powder.