• ODT Gun Show & Swap Meet - May 4, 2024! - Click here for info

Looking for flashlight recommendations with remote switch for a shotgun

A34

Default rank <750 posts
Frontiersman
16   0
Reaction score
Update 4/20/24:

This is my first time installing/using a light on a weapon, so I'm a novice to all this. Here's an update on what I did. Hope it helps someone considering doing this. Purchased a Streamlight Pro-Trac railmount, 625 Lumens. It is adequate for what I needed lighting up my property. I should have spent a little more and purchased the 1000 lumens. I'll probably wait for a sale and upgrade later.

I say this because in testing the light around 9:45pm I discovered 5 deer bedding down in my front yard. They were approx 80 feet off my front porch. I could see them well enough and would have felt comfortable taking the shot but I feel 1000 lumens would have given me a much better view of them. Of course if you're young with awesome eyesight that may not be an issue. So, it was a good test for exactly why I bought it. I feel comfortable being able to spot a coyote or something and take them out if deemed a threat.

I chose a magazine tube mount by GG&G with a rail. The light came with a few attahment options, and the tube mount seemed to be the cheapest in regards to what I'd need to purchase to make it work. There is a little wiggle side to side which I'm not sure I like. I have it as tight as I can get it with my hands. A live fire test will be the deciding factor. It also positions the light at the end of the forearm. I prefer it close to the end of the barrel. Not sure if it makes a real difference. Again, I'm a novice but think I'd prefer the light and hence the remote switch a little farther forward. You may feel differently. Access to the remote switch is fine, I can easily manipulate the temporary switch and with only slightly more difficulty the permanent on/off position. Pics attached!

Hey Guys,