• ODT Gun Show & Swap Meet - May 4, 2024! - Click here for info

Mauser Info?

huntin42

Default rank <750 posts Supporter
Chris, GREAT DAY!
73   0
Reaction score
Howdy,
This is my first time posting in this forum so forgive me if I list something wrong or am looking in the wrong place.
I have an older Mauser that was left to me when my dad passed away. I know very little about this gun and am hoping to find out a little more information.
What I think I know is this: its a Mauser action that was redone in 270. Someone spent a lot of time engraving some pretty detailed wildlife scenes on it. The numbers on the left side of the receiver has something to do with the powder charge?
I guess my main questions would be these:
1. Who was the original manufacturer?
2. Any way to figure out manufacturer of the barrel?
3. Any way to figure out who did the engraving?
4. Set triggers? How they work - which is the set trigger - which order do you pull them?
5. Stock - could it be original - any way to tell manufacturer?
6. Value?
There arnt many markings on the gun. I tried to include pictures of everything I could see. There are no words, only the proof marks. I can take more pictures if needed. Any information would be extremely appreciated!!
Thanks, Chris
**more pictures of engraving at bottom of comments**

20160823_202959.jpg
20160823_202928.jpg
20160831_202221.jpg
20160831_202433.jpg
20160823_202959.jpg
20160823_202928.jpg
20160831_202221.jpg
20160831_202433.jpg

Attachments

• 20160823_202943.jpg
    2.7 MB · Views: 12
Definitely not in original form. Sporterized, and personally engraved for him maybe.

Sent from my SM-G900P using Tapatalk

Definitely not in original form. Sporterized, and personally engraved for him maybe.

Thanks for the response! From my previous readings, I understand that .270 was not an original caliber. The only marking on the barrel is .270 Win. What do you mean exactly when you say sporterized? Thanks again for the response!