Need some advice!

jwill130

Default rank <2500 posts
ODT Junkie!
164   0
Reaction score
I’m planning on this week going and getting a can. Plan to do form 4 individual and use my local gun store. This will be my first can and I’m new to all of this. The rifles I plan to use it on are a 308 bolt gun, 6.5 Creedmoor bolt gun, 6.5 grendel Ar15 and a couple of 5.56 Ar15s. I’m leaning toward the Dear Air Sandman S. I like the mount options. Am I on the right track here? Anything anyone else thinks would be better? I also noticed you can get a 5.56 front cap for the sandman to reduce first round pop. I know a dedicated can would be better but I’m only wanting to buy one at the moment to see if it’s something I like, which I know I will. Thanks guys!

The Sandman is a good can. However, I'd suggest you consider a direct thread can like the Sandman TI. When you start thinking about the cost of mounts at $100 or so each you are going to spend almost as much in mounts as the can. Then there's the question of mount availability years from now. You dont have to worry about that with direct thread. I own both direct thread and QD and I found that I use the direct thread cans more. Just my 2 cents

Welcome to the brotherhood. Just a warning you will want more after the first one. Lays chips ain't got anything on suppressors :) .

also if you are thinking Dead Air cans, check out the Area 419 brake/suppressor mount. I saw it at the Precision Rifle Expo a few weeks ago and they are going to have the DA mount soon.