• ODT Gun Show & Swap Meet - May 4, 2024! - Click here for info

New to shotshell reloading questions?

23   0
Reaction score
Hey Y'all,

I am very new to shotshell reloading. Being a greenpea I rushed out and bought components before doing much research. I have however, bought a Lymans reloading manual since then. I have also found a deal on a MEC 761 Grabber and a MEC 650. The gentleman that sold me the presses threw in 3000 RXP12 wads and 6-700 once fired Remington Premium hulls. I found a recipe that I would like to try, but the recipe calls for Remington 209 primers, the primers that I bought are Winchester 209's. Are primers interchangeable? I did read in the Lymans manual that the Rem primers cause a little more pressure than the Winchester primers. Also, does anyone have a favorite powder? The manual seems to recommend the fastest burning double based powder which looks to be Titewad.

any help will be much appreciated.

when switching components on any listed load it's always smart to start on the lower side of the load.

personally for shotgun shells I run exactly the right components for a given load. they didn't list them for giggles