• ODT Gun Show this Saturday! - Click here for info and tickets!

Once fired brass?

jbales

Default rank <100 posts
Hunter
16   0
Reaction score
If this seems insensitive, I don't mean for it to be, I'm more curious to hear if you share the same concerns.

It seems that Bigfoot has been spotted more times than than a "twice fired" brass for sale classified listing. Most ads are for "once fired" and some even say "range pickup" and once fired in the same sentence. I will admit, I'm new to reloading so I don't claim to be an expert on brass or anything of the sort but how can one possibly know that range pickup brass is once-fired unless you pickup what came from your weapon or you watched dude-buddy next to you crack open new ammo shoot it and leave the cases behind when he left?

I'm not doubting anyone's integrity, so don't take it like that but how many out there carry around a mic to check wall thickness of brass in your back pocket? I use what I fire or new brass. Too OCD? Missing out on all the "deals" out there, maybe. I was just curious if I was the only one that had never seen an ad on here or other boards for "twice fired" brass.

HAHA! Yea not too many people sell Twice fired brass. I have bought brass before that was "once fired", one piece in the bunble was so damaged that the side was corroded off. About the only time you can know for sure is on military rifle brass. If it still has the crimp then it probably has not been reloaded. Just like jaybees said just make sure you inspect each piece for any malformation that would not be taken out by sizer die, or on pistol the mouth expander die. Also, handpriming can tell you a lot about a piece of brass. If the primer goes in too easy then you might want to look into crunching and chunking it before you have a blowout. Inspection is the key.