• ODT Gun Show this Saturday! - Click here for info and tickets!

Primers - striker fired vs hammer fired pistols

smokymtnsmoke

Default rank <750 posts
Frontiersman
91   0
Reaction score
Well I've been reloading for a while (10+ yrs). Until recently I've always used either Winchester or CCI primers. With the past shortages I purchased a few thousand Wolf small pistol primers. My two Ruger P series pistols are hammer fired. I also have 2 Taurus PT series plus a new SW M&P striker fired. I have been using my "staycation" time to work the press rolling 9mm and .40SW, all with the WOLF Small Pistol Primers. After a few trips to the range I've been able to test the "weak primer strike" that occurs in my striker fired pistols. I have concluded that Wolf primers are NOT suited to be used in personal defense in striker fired pistols. This may be old news to many of you but this is a new discovery for me.

Every round that failed to ignite upon the first strike was reloaded in the chamber for a second attempt. If it failed to ignite a second time I chambered it into a hammer fired equivalent with successful ignition upon that first strike every time.

I've had NO FTF while using CCI or Winchester primers or factory loaded round in any of my striker fired pistols.

How many of you that roll your own with Wolf or even Tula Primers have experienced this thinking it was a weak firing pin spring in your striker fired guns?

I've used Wolf primers in my revolver ammo before, but never tried them in a pistol. A stronger firing pin spring would probably correct the striker-fired issues, though.

I will say that on my two K-frame revolvers, I had trouble with the Wolf primers. A set of Wolff springs took care of my problems.

I've only used the imported primers for AR's and a few in the .45's. I've not had any issues so far. Sometimes a low price ain't such a bargain is it?