• ODT Gun Show this Saturday! - Click here for info and tickets!

True Tales of Military, Law Enforcement, and Firefighters

m88dad

Default rank <1500 posts
ODT Junkie!
4   0
Reaction score
Where do I begin? I'm Chris. I'm an Army Mechanic. I capitalized "Mechanic" because Mechanics are awesome! As a child I loved sitting and listening to my Grandfather talk about his adventures in the Navy during the Korean War. A few years ago I would listen to my Father-In-Law tell me all the crazy stuff he did in Vietnam. Now I sit around with my kids and tell them all the crazy stuff I did in Iraq and Afghanistan and they stare at me with that same wonder in their eyes that I had when I was a kid.

While listening to, and retelling these stories I've learned two things.
1. People unaffiliated with the military, law enforcement, firefighting, or similar occupations, are enamored by these stories because they have little to no understanding of how we do it or why.
2. People who are affiliated with said occupations enjoy the fellowship and comfort that comes with sharing experiences with your fellow service men/women.

I'd like to share some of my experiences with you. I encourage you to share yours as well!

This was my baby in OIF III. That's my M88A1 recovery vehicle and she's 56 tons of badass! I lost count of how many times we went out in this beast building up checkpoints, recovering broken tanks, or just going on patrol. Once we had to use it to recover a downed Apache. Built in 1964 and refit in 1996 she's got an air cooled 12 cyl turbo diesel governed down to 850 hp and capable of dead-lifting 25 tons and pulling over 90 tons with the main winch. Next to the P38 can opener and the woobie, this is the best piece of equipment the Army ever fielded!
i1082.photobucket.com_albums_j368_m88dad_7929_275516915170_693360170_8759510_203635_n.jpg