• ODT Gun Show this Saturday! - Click here for info and tickets!

Whats the deal with LEE and CC's?

BillMe45

Default rank 5000+ posts
The Hen that laid the Golden Legos
158   0
Reaction score
I'm new to reloading, in the last week I just traded for a Lee Challenger kit. Got it set up and ready to load some 300 BLK. Between various reloading manuals (legit online sources and in print) and my local gun store there was only one powder in stock that could be used with ANY published load. So I came home with a box of 180gr Sierra BTSP and a pound of IMR 4198...got a long list of powders to look for out of town.

Well my starting load is 15.5 grains, no problems there, got my scale set up and calibrated then I turned to my Lee Perfect Powder Measure... those sorry jokers at Lee put the measurements on the powder measure in Cubic Centimeters. Now how do you measure by volume when powders are cut differently and are varying density's? Some math and online sources showed that it should come out to around 1.2 CC's but that measured only 13 Gr's.

I think I should just go by weight and ignore the "CC" marks on the adjustment, just keep turning and weighing till it comes out right. What do yall think? Am I missing something here?

I always set to a weighted load, and check the load weight often. First off, get a good digital scale. then just dial in your charge and go Powder mass is different on all powders, If you want to make yourself crazy, get a pro 1000 and figure out the pre measured charging rings.

You guys make this stuff sound difficult, the cc is because it's meant to be simple and used with their dipper kit, you can get as accurate as you want but the charging sheet they gave you is free and most dies don't give you anything so be thankful for that, as far as converting it's a simple formula, a small digital scale is better anyways.