• ODT Gun Show & Swap Meet - May 4, 2024! - Click here for info

17hmr vs 22mag ? need advice

Creeper

Default rank <2500 posts
ODT Junkie!
Banned Permanently
25   0
Reaction score
I have no experience with the 22mag or 17. How do they compare to the 22LR ? I'd like to get another rifle but am wondering if I should just stay with the 22LR or move up a little to one of the others.
Which one is more economical to buy a rifle and ammo with and is one more reliable than the other or does it just depend on the brand of rifle and ammo ?

Last edited:
They both blow the 22lr out of the water only thing you can compare to a 22lr in size would be the 17 HM2 same size case necked down to a 17 cal an hotter load. But I own a .17 HMR an would never trade it for a 22 mag. On a calm day I can hit a golf ball at 100 yards with it.

.22 mag is my squirrel terminator. One shot and they always fall. I have heard alot of good things about the .17hmr being a good tack driver round as well! Really flat shooting and fast!

Come on Creeper. Ive got the 22lr in a nice setup and it is fun. Shooting a 17 has the same recoil, lots more boom, and it crazy accurate ;) The 17 is the way to go. It is one of my favorite rounds to shoot. Maybe we can meet some day locally and I will bring both so you can see!

Come on Creeper. Ive got the 22lr in a nice setup and it is fun. Shooting a 17 has the same recoil, lots more boom, and it crazy accurate ;) The 17 is the way to go. It is one of my favorite rounds to shoot. Maybe we can meet some day locally and I will bring both so you can see!
I hope you bring it Sunday.

They both blow the 22lr out of the water only thing you can compare to a 22lr in size would be the 17 HM2 same size case necked down to a 17 cal an hotter load. But I own a .17 HMR an would never trade it for a 22 mag. On a calm day I can hit a golf ball at 100 yards with it.

But if there's a slight wind, you'll have a hard time hitting a poster board..