2006 F150 Spark Plugs. Done!

jeffk14

Default rank <750 posts
Frontiersman
21   0
Reaction score
I don't know how many of you have a 2004 thru 2008 F150 with the 5.4 V8, but let me tell ya, the spark plugs on these trucks are no joke! People have had all kinds of horror stories when trying to change out these plugs. The thing is, these trucks use a two-piece plug and the lower ground sleeve on the plug is just crimped onto the threaded portion and the plugs break off in the head when removal is attempted. Some folks have shelled out as much as $2200 for a plug change when they went in to the dealer and were later told that the head(s) would have to be pulled after the plugs broke off.

I'm an aircraft mechanic with nearly 30 years experience and I thought that I would be the guy who could remove these plugs without breaking them. WRONG! I broke 5 out of 8 and I was inventing cuss words before the ordeal was over. That was after reading (all 3 revisions of) the TSB from Ford numerous times.

There's a special $80 tool kit to remove the broken plugs. I ended up getting it AFTER I broke 5 plugs off. Looooong story short, after a day-and-a-half, I'm finally done and the truck runs like new. If anybody in the south Metro Atlanta area has questions about this issue (nightmare), just PM me & I can probably save you a ton of grief.

No, I don't sell the tool kit. It's made by the Lisle Tool Company (P/N 65600) and it's available all over the net. It is NOT a "plug and play" tool set though. Even with the kit, you can get yourself in all kinds of misery if you make a wrong move. I'm just offering to share my experiences and help someone else avoid any unnecessary trouble.

As a side note, even though these plugs are supposed to be good for 100K miles, mine were 70% gone with only 73K miles on the clock. The ground straps and electrode tips were eroded to the point to where I had about a .070" gap instead of the specified .045". It's no wonder my truck was running like crap.