• ODT Gun Show & Swap Meet - May 4, 2024! - Click here for info

9mm / .45acp Powder Recommendations

I've been using longshot since it seems to be available around Atlanta. Getting decent velocity and function out of 9 and 45. Haven't really tested accuracy yet but it seems decent.

I used to use W231/HP38 for most of my midrange loads in 45acp & 9mm. Haven't been able to find it the last couple of years, so I've moved over to my old shotgun standbys, Red Dot & Unique. Have had no problems metering in any of my measures.

For .44 Spl, I like 7.5 gr of Unique behind a 240-250 LSWC for about 900fps. You can use Unique in the .44 Mag case, but you'll have to increase the load for equivalent velocities (I can't remember the load off the top of my head).

I have a lee Loadmaster now that I've been using.. Winchester Autocomp meters beautifully on it. 124gn plated round nose, .40 disk, oal 1.163. Ends up being 5.0 grains measured on my scale. Meters VERY well and is very consistant. Shooting under 3" groups at ~15 yards and I don't consider myself that good of a shot. I am taking my time though and not just plucking them off. After 15 rounds in a clean gun I cant even tell its been fired.

Compare that to the BE86 I was using, getting 5-6" groups at that range and it was nasty the first time you pulled the trigger.. I know there are some on here that love the BE86.. but you couldn't pay me to use that crap again. I do however miss the Ramshot Silhouette