• ODT Gun Show & Swap Meet - May 4, 2024! - Click here for info

A question about suppressors and back order...

guitarded_1

Default rank <300 posts
Tracker
18   0
Reaction score
Suppressor noob here. So I am thinking about getting a .30 cal suppressor, and logic would dictate that because the wait is so long, I should get started as soon as possible. My question relates to the fact that the suppressors I am thinking of buying seem very hard to find in stock locally - like the TBAC Ultra 7 or the Dead Air Nomad 30. It seems like I could waste a lot of time looking for and/or waiting for one of these to be in stock so that I can put it in jail. At the same time, I'm not exactly sure how much time I will be adding to the wait if I go with something that is back ordered. Then again, back order may be the only practical choice.

Should I just go to Quiet Riot Firearms and get the ball rolling on a back ordered suppressor, or is there a better way to go about it? Appreciate the advice.

I have a Dead Air Sandman and highly recommend it! I'd get started on whichever one you decide on ASAP! My first one took 13 months, and the second took 9 months.

Attachments

• 20230923_123855.jpg
    20230923_123855.jpg
    168.8 KB · Views: 13
If you're buying the can as an individual, eFiling now is somewhat faster than the paper filing, so your wait times might not be excessive. The bigger danger is the same as the one when buying your first handgun - it's easy to buy something that actually doesn't work for you.

My recommendation is to develop a relationship with a local NFA shop/vendor (for example, Quiet Riot) and ask them their advice - if only as a confirmational check. That relationship will serve you well in the future, if you intend to purchase further NFA items. I'm a real Dead Air fan, but I've been hearing rumors of problems with their QA recently, and a knowledgable partner in the industry can save a lot of heartache.