Advice on getting started reloading?

Status
Not open for further replies.

mugsy

Default rank <750 posts
Frontiersman
16   0
Reaction score
I like to shoot but it pretty costly so I have thought more and more about reloading.
However, I have no background in it and don't know how to get started.

From you old hands - how would you recommend going about starting to load, let's say, 9mm or .38 spl targets rounds?
- How much initial money does one have to invest
- Do you need dedicated space (beyond a cleaning/repair desk)?
- What are basic pieces of equipment?
- Good first-timer's book to guide one through the process?
- Best place to get supplies?

Bottom line - how do I start?

VR,

Mugsy

Last edited:
I have found that reloading will not pay off for a long while, the equipment and materials are expensive and its addictive, when reloading its really best for accuracy. I reload for any rifle that does not group tight with factory ammo. If it will group with factory ammo I just buy factory ammo. I guess over time it does come out cheaper but I have not really broke it down.

Good reading right here on the forum:
http://www.theoutdoorstrader.com/sh...-exchange-for-some-reloading-knowledge./page2

http://www.theoutdoorstrader.com/showthread.php?30081-Newbie-questions

From an earlier Post, I don't load 9mm personally but: