• ODT Gun Show this Saturday! - Click here for info and tickets!

Dominant Eye...

jcountry

Default rank 5000+ posts
The Hen that laid the Golden Legos
13   0
Reaction score
I have a buddy who is left-eye dominant, but right handed.

He wants me to help he become as awesome a rifle shot as I am (l.o.l!)

I have an extensive background in rifle and some competition shooting, so I am not a newbie..... BUT, I have always heard you cannot change eye-dominance, and always told people the same. I understand it is always better to shoot with your dominant eye rather than dominant hand. In fact, I usually discover that friends who can't shoot a rifle with a crap are usually trying to use their non-dominant eye and have no idea how important it is.

My buddy's eye dr. tells him you can train your non-dominant eye to take over and become dominant. I have never heard of this-I fact it is exactly the opposite of what I have always understood.

-Who's right?

Last edited:
I have heard this also. But I have been told that a person can wear a patch over the dominant for like 30 days (if I remember correctly) and that will strenghthen the weaker less dominant eye. I just never had the enough pirate in me to try it. I shoot handguns right hand with left eye dominant. Long guns left handed and I have done fine all of my life.

I don't know who's right, but if the guy is a Dr. of optometry I would certainly think he knows what he's talking about.
I often wonder why right handed people don't shoot with the long gun on their left shoulder??? I do. It just makes more sense to me to steady/swing the heavy fore end of a long gun with the strong hand and pull the trigger with the off hand. No problem here hitting what I'm shooting at. I actually think it gives me an advantage over those who are doing it all wrong:p.