• ODT Gun Show & Swap Meet - May 4, 2024! - Click here for info

Good .45 loads

Cobalt 60

Default rank 5000+ posts
The Hen that laid the Golden Legos
119   0
Reaction score
I am just getting into reloading, and starting with .45. I will mainly be using this for pin shoots, action pistol shoots, etc. I have heard and read good things about 4 grains of Clay's with a 230 grain projectile.

Anyone else have a pet load that shoots well in just about anything? Low recoil is good considering what I will be doing with them.

Clays is very good powder for low power only loads. It doesn't tolerate pushing.

I use Universal for moderate velocity target loads. It yields good case fill and will allow a bit more range in velocity. My loads are mostly 200gr cast bullets that function great with a standard 16lb recoil spring. The empties are generally in a neat little pile beside me.

Universal is a pretty good powder to start with. It's clean, accurate, has good case volume and works well with different projectiles.

Clays can get pretty squirrelly pretty fast if you're not sure what you're doing.

You're starting out right-- .45 ACP is one of the easiest cartridges to load. It's not finicky about powders, and the cases basically last forever because of the low pressure. The primary thing to watch for is the crimp. Make sure you can't mash the bullet into the case easily. You should be able to measure the overall length, then gripping the case, mash the bullet hard onto a table, and not have the length change. Don't jump up and down on it or something, just push hard. If the bullet stays put, you're good to go. Then check that they feed, and that the gun cycles reliably. I can assure you that other cartridges can be much harder to deal with.