How many test rounds?

Cmax Arms

Default rank <200 posts
Hunter
2   0
Reaction score
I am new to reloading, found some Red Dot powder (actually 8 lbs for $105 out the door!). There is not any new reload data for it in pistol calibers, only in shot gun, I know it is an old powder (they changed it slightly about 15 years ago making it cleaner) that was used alot for pistol calibers.
Well I am ready to start loading powder. My question is how many rounds should I load for each powder quantity for evaluation? I do not have a chronograph, so I will have to test fire them.
If any one has experience with Red Dot and would like to share the load data, I would love to see it, I am starting off with 9mm, then 38 special, then maybe 357 mag (I know it is not great for magnums) and 45 acp.

Thanks Cmax:cool:

Last edited:
I start at min and increment till I reach max. So if the load was a min of 4gr and a max of 5gr, I would do 5 at each increment of .1 gr and shoot those for function. Of those that functioned without issue and I liked how they felt, I load again for accuracy. There are probably better ways to do this and I am still new to reloading but that is what has been working for me for pistol load development. I would probably take another approach if using expensive projectiles.

I have several old reloading manuals- I don't mind checking them and letting you know what they say for Red Dot. However, I seriously would not stray from their recipes. And I have personally never used Red Dot, so I don't have any first hand experience.

You have quite a range of pressures in those calibers listed- .38 and .45ACP being on the low end and .357/9mm being on the pretty darn high end for pistol calibers. Not all powders are suitable for low and high pressure calibers. Universal and Bullseye do a pretty good job covering them, but I'm not sure about Red Dot.

http://www.hodgdon.com/burn-rate.html