• ODT Gun Show & Swap Meet - May 4, 2024! - Click here for info

How to fly a P-51 Mustang from startup to shut down

streetroc

Default rank 5000+ posts Lifetime Supporter
DO NOT TOUCH THE TRIM!
53   0
Reaction score

Great tutorial from Kermit Weeks with an early P-51C model. I met Kermit last year at an aerobatic competition when he flew down in a 1931 Sikorsky flying boat. Really nice guy and has a ton of experience flying vintage airplanes. Man I would love to fly a P-51 someday. Most beautiful airplane in the history of aviation!

I agree. The sexiest plane ever.

I think some of the early straight-wing jet fighters were sexier. In particular the Navy's F9 Panther, I believe, has the best looks of any military plane that's ever flown.

But I admit that it is underpowered and its performance is barely better than the World War II era Mustangs, Thunderbolts, and Corsairs.

401D4057-2CF9-4D0F-A52B-6F7EA1453F00.jpeg

I agree. The sexiest plane ever. When I was a tech up at Charlotte, I used to have to go to Concord airport about once a month. If the Roush hangar was open, I would go in and drool on his P-51.

The P-51 was widely used in air racing after the war so fortunately there are still quite a few of them in the air compared to other warbirds. There are a few places that you could go to get checked out in one and I have enough experience with vintage tail draggers that I think I could transition pretty quickly. Flight time isn't cheap though, about $1,500 an hour last I checked. Like everything else in aviation, all it takes is money.

I think some of the early straight-wing jet fighters were sexier. In particular the Navy's F9 Panther, I believe, has the best looks of any military plane that's ever flown.

But I admit that it is underpowered and its performance is barely better than the World War II era Mustangs, Thunderbolts, and Corsairs.

View attachment 6218173