• ODT Gun Show & Swap Meet - May 4, 2024! - Click here for info

Hunker down or come together?

Patronus

Default rank 5000+ posts
The Hen that laid the Golden Legos
152   0
Reaction score
I'm just starting to consider options and possibilities. One of my first thoughts is if it does hit the fan would it be smarter to hunker down and try to survive in relative solitude or for some like-minded folks to form the nucleus of a community for mutual support and protection.

My second thought is where? I live near a large lake with good game nearby but I'm downstream of Atlanta which makes my water source questionable. Would it be better to live in a secluded area, boiling water and cooking over open fires or basically migrate to a small town with the infrastructure to maintain a community and rebuild it as a working community. ie, I am a water plant operator, if I had power, raw water and chemicals I could provide the expertise to runa small plant and supply a decent sized community. With people capable of providing the power and other needs we could re-create anything that the "grid" lost.

I'd really be interested in thoughts along these lines.

My thoughts are community. Not necessarily finding a small town but creating one. I have several like-minded friends who are spread out enough that one of us should have room for everyone depending on what happens where. we all have our contributions. some by expertise and some by providing goods and services.
I don't think one could ever 'hunker down' and keep the others from taking what you have stored for their own use. A group would be much more secure and sustainable.

Group definitely better. Just wish I knew enough people to have a group. Only one friend with same mindset everybody else I know think it's dumb to prepare or won't stick to it