Inexpensive AR?

Spagett

Default rank <1250 posts Supporter
Billion Dollar Director
83   0
Reaction score
So I finally got in to firearms and shooting at exactly the WRONG time (read: right after the election). I didn't do it out of panic or fear - hell, never having owned a gun, I didn't know there was actual panic in the firearms community. Anyway, I've been getting my feet wet with mill surplus and cheaper firearms. I'm not investing a ton of money and won't until I can even tell the difference between a nice gun and a beater.

Sooner rather than later, I plan on graduating to "big boy" guns. That is to say, instead of shopping for Mosins and Hipoint C9s I'll be looking at middle of the road handguns and more modern rifles. I'm no longer a complete noob with firearms but I have 0 experience with the AR platform. When I do decide to buy one, what's the most cost effective way to go / brand to chose?

For my first, I don't care if it's poly, doesn't need be nice, actually beat to crap is fine with me too.

Is it less expensive to piece together components or buy brand name complete?

Any advice is welcomed!

Edit: Don't let my 0 feedback weigh too heavily, I'm not a passerby or a flipper, I just only own 2 guns and am new to the hobby!

Last edited:
If they ever get back in stock I think the PSA M4 is a great starter AR. My first one was a Stag Arms Model 1 which is a great AR as well. ARs are like cars. You don't have to spend a lot of bread to get a good reliable AR and everyone has their preferences on which one to get like Ford/Chevy/Dodge or which one is best like Mercedes or BMW.