• ODT Gun Show & Swap Meet - May 4, 2024! - Click here for info

Need a little help with a reloading problem, guys

drjterrell

Default rank <1250 posts
ODT Junkie!
93   0
Reaction score
OK, so I'm new to this. I've shot a couple of hundred .45 rounds that I've rolled myself. :) Those were 230 grain round nose bullets in starline brass (along with some once fired brass), using Accurate No. 5 powder at 7.9 grains. Everything has worked great,except for one round that wouldn't allow the slide to close--I'm assuming it was too long.

So here's my struggle. I'm now trying to load 200 grain round nose bullets, but I can't figure out the proper length. I've looked in both Lyman and Hornady guides but don't see a 200 grain RN bullet to check the appropriate COL. When I try to make them look like a JHP in 200, they look too short. And they ARE shorter than the 230 RN's I was using. (That doesn't make sense to me either--seems like all .45's should be pretty close to the same length in order to function properly.)

So, please help a newbie out here. What am I doing wrong?

Jeff

45200gn.JPG

That help any? It's from Speers.

Jeff, I am at work so I can't look at any manuals right now. But, I don't think you are doing anything wrong. The 200 grain round nose bullet is going to be a bit shorter than a 230 grain bullet, they can't take away from the diameter of the bullet for that 30 grains so it comes out of the length. If the the OAL is only a few thousands of an inch shorter than the 230 grain, that is OK.

Are they cast bullets? If they fit the magazine well, I doubt it's the length? It's more likely a tight chamber and a .452 bullet. You may be over crimping them too. When you perform the case mouth expansion, don't over do it. Open the mouth just enough for the bullet to start in. When crimping, simply straighten the case back out.