• ODT Gun Show this Saturday! - Click here for info and tickets!

New to Reloading

CTarpley

Default rank <1000 posts
Frontiersman
45   0
Reaction score
Hey guys, I just started to reload (literally loaded my first 50 rounds in the last few days). I have had the equipment for a while tinkering and learning. I wanted to ask some pros how long it took you to have some trust in your powder measure, or I guess how long did it take you to feel confident in your skills? I have an old Lyman 55 measure that I cleaned up and started to work with. After getting it set for my load, I have been verifying almost every other round with my scale. They all seem within a tenth of a grain to my goal, however I am still freaking out that I may over/under charge a case. Any suggestions? I am using Accurate #5 powder and loading 45acp.

Thanks ODT!

Being nervous about your powder load is a good problem to have. I've been reloading for 50 years and I still weigh probably every 10th round.

the trick to having your powder measure work well is how consitantly you operate it from round to round.

that consistency applies to all phases of reloading. BTW

the old Lyman unit is a good solid tool. one trick to using it is the little flip up leaver that taps the measue to insure consitant loads.. tap it the same way each time. I used to flip it up twice for each load.

the trick to having your powder measure work well is how consitantly you operate it from round to round.

that consistency applies to all phases of reloading. BTW

the old Lyman unit is a good solid tool. one trick to using it is the little flip up leaver that taps the measue to insure consitant loads.. tap it the same way each time. I used to flip it up twice for each load.