• ODT Gun Show & Swap Meet - May 4, 2024! - Click here for info

Old Car Running Again?

Upon a closer look, this car may not be good enough to drive.
One of the power windows stopped working years ago, and is held up with duct tape.
The rubber gasket material around the front and back glass is falling off.
The wheels are sunk into the ground about 4"... probably some serious rust on the wheels and brake components down there.
The paint has come off the hood and it has some rust. From a distance I thought it was just patches of mold and mildew, but there's rust also.

On the other hand, if this car's future is to be towed off to the scrap yard anyway, what's the harm in just siphoning the tank, checking the engine oil, sticking a borrowed battery in it, giving it 5 gallons of fresh fuel, and trying to start it? I'm curious to see if it would start and run again.

I'm not a mechanic but I have experience selling and owning Camrys. The one in the pic is the same body style as the 94 I got from my mom in 06. If it's been parked a while it most likely needs a fuel pump. The good part of that is it's an easy job . There's an access plate under the back seat on the driver's side. The 4 cylinder model is the best for reliability. But little things go wrong like the fuel door pops off and the outer door handles break . But they're cheap enough on eBay.

Upon a closer look, this car may not be good enough to drive.
One of the power windows stopped working years ago, and is held up with duct tape.
The rubber gasket material around the front and back glass is falling off.
The wheels are sunk into the ground about 4"... probably some serious rust on the wheels and brake components down there.
The paint has come off the hood and it has some rust. From a distance I thought it was just patches of mold and mildew, but there's rust also.