• ODT Gun Show & Swap Meet - May 4, 2024! - Click here for info

Question about birdshot - research

LadyGLS

Default rank <5 posts
New to The Trader!
0   0
Reaction score
I'm a writer and my husband suggested I come here and see what y'all think about a question I have. In my story, a man is sitting at a table, facing north. Another man enters the room holding a shotgun he's just used to hunt turkeys. He is about 20 feet away from the man at the table and he is facing east. He shoots the man at the table who has turned to his left to look at him. This takes place in 1945. My questions: 1) Would it kill the man at the table or just wound him? 2) Would the man at the table be able to do or say anything for a few seconds before he dies, if it is a fatal shot? 3) If it isn't fatal, what does it do to him? 4) If there is a woman seated across the table from the man, would the shotgun blast potentially wound her, at 20 feet away, or (the guy is a dead shot) would it just hit the man?

Some people have told me it would kill the guy instantly, and others say that it won't because it's birdshot. I want to write the scene as accurately as possible, so any help you could offer is greatly appreciated. If this is the wrong forum for the question, please tell me and I'll move it (new here). Thanks so much for your time.

EDIT: I found this video which is helpful. I need to find out what was available in 1945, but this makes me think it would seriously wound him but not necessarily kill him instantly.

Turkey loads are viscous, but they vary from 2 3/4 to 3 1/2" shells 20ga. To 10ga. I'd say dead if 20ft away you shoot with 3" 12ga. It also depends on shot placement.

Attachments

• Screenshot_20221007-220123_Google.jpg
    Screenshot_20221007-220123_Google.jpg
    204.1 KB · Views: 3