• ODT Gun Show & Swap Meet - May 4, 2024! - Click here for info

Question on getting started on Reloading

cru9

Default rank <1500 posts Supporter
ODT Junkie!
69   0
Reaction score
I am just learning to reload and want to by my own set up
What do you have and what do you recommend?
I can't break the bank so I am not going out buying the top of line stuff

Single stage is a one at a time method. Seating bullet. Powder throw. so on. Turret spins and you can do all the steps at a pull of the handle.

I have been loading for over 30 years....it depends on the volume/quality you shoot and load. My opinion is to start with a single stage press. You should first learn the process, pitfalls etc. You can find used presses fairly cheap. Then move to a progressive loader when you have learned the process and become familiar with everything. You will also learn if you have the need (volume) to move up to a progressive loader. The Dillon 650 is what I use, but also have two single stage presses. If I want to try another caliber its much easier and cheaper to make the change with a single stage press than the progressive. Stay with brand names, RCBS, Hornady, Lee, Dillon etc. The single stage is easier, simpler and you only perform one function at a time. The progressive takes time and patience to set up.....it is imparative that it is set up correctly to function properly.

No matter what press you choose.....learn from a fellow loader if possible....and..... always, load for quality and not quantity. It's not rocket science, but it can be dangerous if you do not pay attention.

When loading...avoid distractions such as tv, kids, wifes, phones etc. and keep a written log of what and when you load. It may sound silly now, but you will be glad you got into the habit as you learn to load multiple calibers, powders, and projectiles.

Good luck and be safe. Feel free to contact me through PM if you have any further questions or concerns.

Curt