• ODT Gun Show this Saturday! - Click here for info and tickets!

Reloading Question (.45 ACP)

meastt

Default rank <3000 posts
ODT Junkie!
103   0
Reaction score
I was going to purchase some copper plated .452dia .45ACP rounds from GB. My question since I am still fairly new to this is:

When the recipie is for a 200gr "jacketed" bullet, is that the same no matter if it's a brass jacketed or copper plated?

Any help would be great.

I have only loaded SWC wich ran great.

Thanks

As a rule of thumb No.
I do not have experience with loading .45 acp and the lower pressures may make the point moot. However...
Plated bullets are not the same as Jacketed. Depending on construction, separation of the plating could happen at jacketed speeds, causing fouling and at worse case, blockage in the barrel.

As a rule of thumb you should start with the medium lead loads and work up. From what I've gathered from other reloading boards, is you should expect plated bullets to max out in between lead and jacketed.

As a rule of thumb No.
I do not have experience with loading .45 acp and the lower pressures may make the point moot. However...
Plated bullets are not the same as Jacketed. Depending on construction, separation of the plating could happen at jacketed speeds, causing fouling and at worse case, blockage in the barrel.

As a rule of thumb you should start with the medium lead loads and work up. From what I've gathered from other reloading boards, is you should expect plated bullets to max out in between lead and jacketed.

Yea, jackets are much tougher than a thin copper plating. I suspect they likely market both hard cast and swagged plated
bullets, but I believe most are swagged. I wouldn't want to load any swagged bullet, plated or not to jacketed pressures.

&#8203;

I recently reloaded some plated 9mm bullets that were made by Rainier ballistics and I looked up what they recommended.