• ODT Gun Show & Swap Meet - May 4, 2024! - Click here for info

9mm Reloading questions

DeaconFrost

Default rank <100 posts
Hunter
7   0
Reaction score
Hey all and Happy New Year! I have a couple of questions if I may ask. I've been loading 9mm for a couple of years now and just moved up to a Dillon 550 from a Square Deal B. Man the blue kool-aid is nice. I've worked up a few very nice competition and target loads with VV N320 and Silhouette using Zero or PD 124gr FMJRNs and am thinking of trying JHPs for the State Steel match coming up. Is there a noticeable difference in accuracy between FMJs and JHPs? Noticeable enough to switch over for competition use? Or is it just personal preference? I'm kinda curious to hear what you guys use and why.

The other question is whether ultrasonic cleaners are really worth it for cleaning brass or if that's personal preference also. Thanks in advance for your input. Cheers!

I've used nothing but coated in 9mm without any problems. I now use the 124 grn rn from bayou bullets with 4.5 grns of Unique. Works fine in all my 9mm with standard springs. I have bought some xtreme plated RN but have not loaded any yet. And I'm sticking to tumbling my brass in a vibratory tumbler with pecan shell media (I think it is called lizard bedding? I get it at WalMart) and some Nu-Finish, no need to change what works.

Last edited:
I still use walnut media an add capful of Dillion rapid polish and regular tumbler. Been doing this way 25 years with good results. I also use the plated 124 grain bullets with good results. Use FMJ with 4.3 grains of winchester231 does great.

Last edited: