• ODT Gun Show & Swap Meet - May 4, 2024! - Click here for info

Beginner IDPA help

SC_85_200x

Default rank <100 posts
Hunter
0   0
Reaction score
Good afternoon everyone. I am new to the handgun competition realm. However, I am not new to shooting sports as a whole I have shot skeet and trap for years. I am wondering what tips any experienced IDPA shooters have for a beginner. Particularly I am looking for tips about actually shooting the different stages, but any will help.

If you are safe with the finger-muzzle and in-out of a holster I would jump right into some local weekly and monthly matches and sign up on practiscore. There will be ample coaching and advice when you arrive. They have a new shooter briefing. Ed Moser that runs the monthly outdoor match at Riverbend has an excellent printed handout for new folks.

I would limit your dry fire to following the range commands with proper holster, muzzle and finger discipline. If you're caught with finger in the trigger when not shooting, moving to a next position two times in a match that earns a DQ. Allowing your muzzle to break the 180 or sweeping body parts earns a DQ. Everyone gets a DQ eventually.

Not many people read the rulebook to be honest and it does have some challenges. If you watch youtube videos very likely those rules are out of date. Best to watch the squad shoot it then copy what they did. One of them will have an easy to understand plan that fits you.

They might still have some matches at Pickens county gun club but some of the faves are CGC Cherokee Gun Club in Gainesville, and in Dawsonville there's Riverbend Gun Club or RBGC.

Don't worry yet about being IDPA classified or becoming a member of anything yet. Just go to some matches as a new shooter and wade into the water slowly. You'll learn which gear to choose from and how the sport works.
You can make it expensive and complicated, or simple and cheap.