• ODT Gun Show this Saturday! - Click here for info and tickets!

Best resourse for deer hunting tactics

Nate

Default rank 5000+ posts
GET TO DA CHOPPA!
286   0
Reaction score
Hey guys,
I am an amateur deer hunter and I would love to study up on whitetail behavior, hunting tactics, the science of the rut, etc.

Like many of my hobbies, I love to hunt and despite taking 40 or so deer in the last 12 years I'm no expert.

I have read several short articles on hunting but many just repeat the same points without much detail. I'm looking for a comprehensive book or online resourse on the topic of whitetail hunting.

Yall have any advice?
Thx
Nate

If you've killed 40 in the last 12 years you're doing something right and I'm sorry but I believe you are going to have to forego the 'amateur' title. :)

Are you a member? https://www.qdma.com/ The forums are free and there's a lot of very knowledgeable guys there. Yes it's driven by 'management' but they aren't 'managing' them to take pictures. Several very knowledgeable hunters around.

sounds good, I'll look into it.

Yea, I put a lot of time into hunting to get those 40. I suppose I consider myself an amatuer hunter because I really just sit there and wait and don't really understand why deer do what they do.
Here are common questions I ask myself
How is deer movement affected by the phases of the moon?
Am I rattling too loud or too often?
Is it too early/late in the pre rut to rattle.
Should I be hunting with scents? If so which ones for what season?

Yea, I put a lot of time into hunting to get those 40. I suppose I consider myself an amatuer hunter because I really just sit there and wait and don't really understand why deer do what they do.
Well you've probably already learned if you ask 10 deer hunters 10 questions you'll get 10 different answers. ;)