new to reloading. need advise

robbyd0313

Default rank <300 posts
Tracker
36   0
Reaction score
I am very new to reloading. Infact i havent even loaded my first round yet. i have everything to do it except my dies and compenents. I am very excited and nervous as heck to start this new adventure but I am the type of person who will not put lead to paper unless i have done a ton of research first. I will only be reloading for my ar-15 chambered in .223 wylde. It is an 18" 1/8 twist integrity arms melonite coated, socom barrel. My intensions with this rifle are to hunt on rare occasions out to about 300 yrds, and develope the ultimate, accurate round specifically for my rifle. I do not have proper glass on it as of yet but i intend to do so. My question to you experienced reloaders who reload for ur AR-15 is: do i need anything imparticular to reload for an ar, and does anyone have a load they think i should start with so that i may be able to start learning this new skill. Also, powder suggestions, bullet brands and weights for my barrel and twist rate. Im not trying to be rude but plz dont post a comment unless it is helpful and from someone with years of experience or unless u reload for ar's yourself. I have been on several forums and i feel im getting opinions rather than experience and facts. Thank u all for any help and/or suggestions that u can give me. Btw my reload manuel is a lymans 49th addition and i have read it cover to cover. It had the highest recomendation so thats what i got. If there are other manuels or videos that are helpful plz feel free to suggest them and i will get them. I have listed all my tools down below in another comment. Just for those asking urself why i went with a single stage press: i did it so i reduce my chances of messing somthing up and because i dont plan to run tons of ammo. My goal is to learn a new skill and to create a load for hunting and also a load for longer range target shooting. I feel (and im probably wrong) that w