• ODT Gun Show & Swap Meet - May 4, 2024! - Click here for info

Recommendations for a new air rifle

Paynefree

Default rank 5000+ posts
Aint no calling for 1 legged ninja
326   0
Reaction score
Looking at upgrading to an air rifle and having a little fun for myself while doing that. There’s quite a few options out there and want some good and bad feedback from some of you guys and gals before I buy. Fire away..just don’t aim for the eyes..

Links for good deals you’ve found are requested as well. thanks.

A lot depends on your intended use. One that you plan to hog hunt with is probably a different gun than one that is going to be used in a suburban back yard to dispatch a chipmunk. What is your price range? I have seen some well over $1000. I am no expert, but to me it looks like the PCP, pre-charged pneumatic, is the king of the hill. They make them where you can adjust the power level. Here is a 50 caliber capable of over 800 ft-lbs of energy - That puff of fur was once a chipmunk.

https://www.airforceairguns.com/product-p/u205034.htm

I bought a Gamo a couple weeks ago. I like it. Cheap scope so didn’t even put it on. This is my second one. No complaints. I was going to get a Hatsan but the one I wanted was out of stock everywhere. Bought this just so I could shoot something without burning thru ammo that is hard to find and expensive. If you google like I did you will probably be shocked. There are air rifles out there over $2k.

I want to get an air rifle too, for backyard plinking and practicing holding steady aim from the unsupported standing position.
I don't need a lot of velocity, but I would like decent accuracy, maybe to get sub-inch groups at 20 yards if I fired it from a bench, across sandbags, with a scope.
What I'm wondering is if a ten-pump pneumatic like Daisy or Crosman are famous for would work,
instead of a break-barrel spring piston air rifle.