• ODT Gun Show & Swap Meet - May 4, 2024! - Click here for info

So what's the deal with pawn shops and stolen guns? Story below...

kuduman

Default rank <4000 posts Supporter
ODT Junkie!
51   0
Reaction score
OK, so I just recovered a gun that was stolen ten years ago. Got it back from Dekalb County-- and for once, glad I actually did have a bill of sale or I might never have got it back.

But here's where it gets interesting-- it was recovered in Augusta, and the person they confiscated it from swore he bought it from a pawn shop in Dekalb (whose name I will keep to myself for now, but you all know the place). And HE DID. So Augusta dropped the stolen gun charge; I have no knowledge of what else might have been going on with him, other than he doesn't know jack about gun maintenance.

But... this shop sold him my stolen gun four years ago.

Don't pawn shops have to document incoming guns and check if they are stolen? This is in Dekalb; I know counties vary. Did the pawn shop drop the ball, or did Dekalb? I'm pretty ticked that I should have got it back four years ago, if folks were doing their damned jobs.

Would love to hear how it actually works from someone knowledgeable, but I would think someone should be looking for the person who pawned my stolen gun. And I'm pretty sure they are not, or they would have wanted to keep the gun as evidence. Hell, they might have the other items stolen in the truck break in in 2007.

Beyond that, if your gun gets stolen around Atlanta, YOU better follow up at the local pawn shops, because obviously the system fails sometimes, if not every time.

The workaround, as they told me, was if the contact officer (I believe the one that called me recently, not the one ten years back) would OK it, they would release it to me without a receipt. But I did not have to test that. And it was a private sale (not ODT; long before ODT existed).