• ODT Gun Show & Swap Meet - May 4, 2024! - Click here for info

Hunting 101 Getting Started?

iAm22lr

Wolf Icon Supporter
Hunter
0   0
Reaction score
Looking for a hunting 101 experience. My son – 12 – wants to go deer hunting. We are both avid shooters and love the outdoors. I have never gone hunting so I am looking for a basic hunting 101 class/tour/experience that the two of us can go on. Anyone have a recommendation for a place we can go that will take a total noob and handhold them every step of the way? Assuming we need a guide, rental equipment, etc. Willing to travel but something in the Southeast would be preferred, within driving distance of North Georgia. Appreciate all suggestions/recommendations!

Gun check, Ammo check, drinks and food check, Go to woods check, Find a nice spot and sit down check, WAIT................. and don't shoot at anything that moves. It might be another hunter.

Assuming that you were born after about 1960 as others have said you are required to first take the Hunters Safety course to be able to buy your license. I m sure you can find a lot of 101 basic information from computer. I have not ever checked to see if there are classes for this. Good luck with your search.

Well after you buy 1,900 dollars worth of hunting equipment and your hunting licenses there is just a few steps left. Beware! Preparing for hunting can be exiting and addictive and can make you spend way to much money anticipating the hunt.

1. Research game you intend on hunting.
( I suggest varmints at first to get the jitters out)
The first time I shot at a squirrel I emptied a Marlin model 60 on him because I was so exited. Didn't hit a damn thing. He was at the base of the tree running around avoiding the sh*t storm of lead I was reigning down on him. 🤣

2. Make sure you have the proper amount of blaze orange material on for safety reasons. Mainly so other hunter can identify you easier.