• ODT Gun Show & Swap Meet - May 4, 2024! - Click here for info

It's May 2018 , What Android phone do you recommend?

10thmountain

Default rank 5000+ posts
American Warhorse.
121   0
Reaction score
My iPhone 6S is getting long in the tooth. What Android phones are you guys using with great success? I am a small business owner and need reliability and battery life.

wheelsandchips.files.wordpress.com_2014_09_659eb540488d6f437d252650f5db8eee3196dcdf4d383884666.jpg

My iPhone 6S is getting long in the tooth. What Android phones are you guys using with great success? I am a small business owner and need reliability and battery life.

I have a Motorola Z Play (1st Gen) I bought about 8 months ago and I love it. Decent (not exceptional) camera and *outstanding* battery life. Plus, an external battery, projector, speakers, or high resolution camera pack can be popped onto the back if needed/wanted.

This thing is only about 1/4"-3/8" thick and excellent screen. Coming from my 2 year old Moto Droid Turbo who's battery crapped out (and before that, an iPhone 5s), it is an absolute joy to use.

I unplug at 5:00am each morning, listen to music for 2-3 hrs during commute, and use it a *lot* throughout the day, and by midnight it typically has 20%-40% battery remaining (important during football season!). I doubt I'll ever buy that accessory battery pack.

That said, the newer generation (Z2) is said to have a battery life about 20% less, but better camera and other functions.

Sent from my XT1635-01 using Tapatalk

Oh, I forgot to mention, it's only available through Verizon, but if you buy one outright, they are unlocked so that you can use on any carrier (I think).

I have been considering a Motorola build. I had a old School RAZR phone from them YEARS ago and it worked perfectly.
The RAZRs were great phones. One thing I found unnerving was that Moto is now Lenovo, but build quality seems great (the Droid Turbo...not so much).