• ODT Gun Show & Swap Meet - May 4, 2024! - Click here for info

Questions pertaining setup for AR-15 with Eotech, Trijicon, and night vision platform

Charles R

Default rank <1250 posts Supporter
ODT Junkie!
56   0
Reaction score
Hey Fellow Gun Nuts,
Welcome your advice about the following 5 questions below.
Specifically regarding the L-3 Eotech 2009 & Trijicon sights 1997.
I'm new to the black rifle family so forgive me for the elementary questions.

My goal is to have a versatile firearm for protection if the SHTF and/or for coyote/predator hunting with a legal platform to utilize night vision/thermal. (Prefer military surplus and open to recommendations permitted for civilian ownership).

1. Is a Flash suppressor required to use with NV? What brand works well?

2. Are these optics designed/used primarily for Close Quarters? Is 25-50 yards defined as CQ?

3. I purchased a cheap off brand 3X magnifier without a quick release which seems to bridge short-long range. What other options are out there if any?

4. Is there a military spec/general number where these sights are zeroed? Personal Preference?
How much should I click/move up to group 50,75,100 yards? Currently I am punching dime groups at 25 yards.

5. Sell both sights on ODT and purchase a Nikon P-223 BOA scope or look for ABC Brand.

Appreciate your time.
Regards,
Charles R.

Attachments

• 0221170857-4.jpg
    0221170857-4.jpg
    45.2 KB · Views: 14
I'm kind of confused about what you're asking. Are you looking to setup one gun to hunt with a day scope and then remove to hunt at night with a thermal/NV?

What's your budget for NV, and how are you planning to hunt? You can get decent digital NV for around $450 with a Sightmark Photon and upgraded IR, or you can go north of $10K with higher end thermal or Gen 3 NV.

Also a flash suppressor is pretty much mandatory for night hunting, and a suppressor is much better.

Batoncolle,
Appreciate you reaching out. Like anything new I need to research this more.