• ODT Gun Show this Saturday! - Click here for info and tickets!

new loaders problems!!!!

pistolpat

Default rank <3500 posts
ODT Junkie!
52   0
Reaction score
ok so im new to loading and I have no clue what im doing wrong. I cast my own 124 grain 9mm and I pan lube them and loaded with 3.5 grains of tight group and they are shooting about two inches high and the last round in the mag gets jammed and wont go all the way into battery but when I hammer the slide back it pulls the bullet out of the case. any suggestions

Please define pan lube?

Sounds like your rounds are either too long, or not properly crimped and loosening under recoil causing the remaining ones to lengthen with each shot.

Where in Cobb are you located? An extra pair of more experienced eyes may be able to help with die setup.

Removing your pistols barrel will give you a useful tool. A loaded round should easily "drop in" and headspace on the case mouth.

Ok, I see what pan lubed means now. I load and shoot hard cast, but don't cast my own.

Seems I remember tumbling being mentioned in another thread. Have you made sure these bullets are properly sized?

Sounds like you need to turn your crimp die down a little more to tighten the crimp.

If you are just shooting targets, try 3.0 TiteGroup.

I think that Chuckdog is on to it, might be improperly sized bullets. Most molds are slightly oversize and you must size them down to .355-.356. If you have any sized 38 SPL cases see if the bullet you cast will sit in it.