• ODT Gun Show & Swap Meet - May 4, 2024! - Click here for info

Anyone Regularly Using a GoPro Camera...?

FlyDawg72

Default rank 5000+ posts
The Hen that laid the Golden Legos
21   0
Reaction score
As an amateur photographer, I am CONSTANTLY snapping photos with my iPhone. Friends, activities, unique shot angles, interesting things from places I visit. My wife just got me a GoPro 3 - Silver and I'm anxious to get started using it.

From what I understand from my friends who have them, it's all about learning the editing software and making the hours of conglomerate video into a breathtaking few minutes. So I still have some work ahead of me in addition to the fun of shooting the videos.

So are any of you using the GoPro, and do you have any pointers or suggestions that help me along?

Last edited:
I have a Go Pro and use it quite frequently when offshore fishing. We use a couple of them and then edit and compile the videos into a 4-5 minute video of that particular trip. I'm no video or software expert by any means, but it is pretty easy to edit a video using basic software. I just use Windows Movie Maker that I downloaded from Microsoft. I know you can use more complex software for better effects and so forth, but these effects and features come with a high price. The basic stuff works just fine for us.

In regards to any pointers, just starting shooting as much video as you can to familiarize yourself with the camera. They work great and are easy to operate, but you'll want to learn the range and wide angle distance capabilities that it has. Mine is the standard Go Pro that I purchased a few years ago. I've heard nothing but great things about the Go Pro 3 camera.

Good luck with it and let me know if I can help in any way.

Visiting some family out of town and plan on attaching it to my dogs collar, he's a French Bulldog and it will be interesting to see his point of view from 10-12 inches off the ground.