• ODT Gun Show & Swap Meet - May 4, 2024! - Click here for info

GGP light........what a mess.

BigMike

Default rank 5000+ posts Lifetime Supporter
The Hen that laid the Golden Legos
232   0
Reaction score
My lgs got in a new ggp light gun and being new, I had to fondle it. Some companies are putting out real **** guns with premium price tags. I'm not an expert and will never claim to be, but I have a handful of things I look for to get a feel for the quality of an AR and this one had none of them right. First the gas block.....not pinned or dimpled set screws. Next, the castle nut....not staked. Lastly, the bcg was Nitrite and failed the gas ring test. For msrp $1900 you'd figure atleast the heart of the gun would be correct.......

I've never considered the castle nut not being staked a con. A stock change is usually one of the first mods people do.

Why do you have to remove the castle nut to change the stock? The AR in question already has a carbine receiver extension. Pull the existing stock off, and shove the new one on.

Additionally, a staked castle nut does not keep you from removing the castle nut. It doesn’t even make it difficult. Staking keeps the castle nut from vibrating loose, and is not intended to keep someone from removing the castle nut when they need to.

When I see a completed AR with a castle nut that isn’t staked properly, the first thing that runs through my mind is, “What else did they do wrong?”

Why do you have to remove the castle nut to change the stock? The AR in question already has a carbine receiver extension. Pull the existing stock off, and shove the new one on.

Additionally, a staked castle nut does not keep you from removing the castle nut. It doesn’t even make it difficult. Staking keeps the castle nut from vibrating loose, and is not intended to keep someone from removing the castle nut when they need to.