• ODT Gun Show & Swap Meet - May 4, 2024! - Click here for info

Chicken Coop build…..

Barton72

Default rank <3500 posts Supporter
ODT Junkie!
11   0
Reaction score
The wife did a spur of the moment purchase of 10 Easter egger hens a while back. Then we incubated Silkies and a couple Brahmas. I’ve been collecting all the free pallet wood and what not for a while and building as I go. Had to purchase some roofing, floor, siding, hardware cloth and fasteners but overall it will be a fairly cheap build considering the cost of what all the materials would be.

She’s coming along pretty nicely I think. I’m no pro and things aren’t perfect, but I like it. Gonna put a big chicken run off the side of it after finishing the coop. What y’all think?

IMG_0469.jpeg

IMG_0467.jpeg

IMG_0468.jpeg

IMG_0451.jpeg

I put some deep earth anchors in tied to ratchet straps. Those straps are temporary. Will put cable and turnbuckles on eventually. I’m very very glad I do because we had two storms in Clermont that would have put the structure on it’s side for sure. I’ll update as I build.

Looks more like it is going to be a spa instead of a coop😀
Hahaha! Ty sir. Well I may be a little over the top, and I wouldn’t have done that much had all the 2x4’s, 2x6’s and 4x4’s not been free! But hey, if I get in the doghouse situation with the wife, I can always push the birds out, pressure wash the poop and move in! I scored a boat load of free vinyl flooring so it will also have that!

What is that floor? Looking good so far! What are you going to put in for them to roost on? You putting a door that can be secured at night?
The floor is 3/4in plywood with Kilz on it. Like I mentioned I procured a bunch of vinyl flooring free so I’ll be fastening that to it for easier cleanup.

The roosts will either be 2x4’s or some pine poles with the bark on. I’ve got tons of little pines in the yard. Already cut a few. They seem to love the bark.